Stefanie Eyerich received the Henning Løwenstein Research Award

Rome/Neuherberg, November 2015: Stefanie Eyerich was awarded the WAO Henning Loøwenstein Research Award (20.000 €) for her achievements in the field of allergy research. Stefanie Eyerich, who is working at the Center of Allergy and Environment (ZAUM) received the price at a solemn award ceremony in Rome on the 20th of November.

Henning Løwenstein (ALK-Abelló GmbH), Awardee Stefanie Eyerich and Lanny Rosenwasser (President of the World Allergy Organization - WAO), Source: ALK-Abelló GmbH


In her working group „Skin Immunology and Allergy“ she is focusing on the role of T helper cells in the context of skin allergic diseases like e.g. atopic dermatitis. The group is currently working on two approaches:
On the one hand side Eyerich is characterizing a new type of T helper cell, which she herself discovered (Th22), to elucidate their functionality in regard to possible new therapeutic approaches. On the other hand she is focusing on the possibilities to improve the diagnostic tools and the treatment of atopic dermatitis. Her clinical studies concerning this topic were published in highly ranked journals like the New England Journal of Medicine and Science Translational Medicine.

„Receiving this research award deeply acknowledges our achievements in the field and will push us even more on the way to decipher the causes of allergic diseases“ commented the recently announced awardee. By being awarded this prize, Stefanie Eyerich is also highlighting Munich as a place of excellent allergy research. Already the prior awardee PD Dr. med. Bianca Schaub, who is working at the LMU clinic Munich, received this prize in 2013, emphasizing the quality of Munich as one of the top places for allergy research.

The Henning Løwenstein Research Award is granted by the World Allergy Organization (WAO). A jury of eight people from eight different countries dedicates this prize to young researchers for showing excellence in the field of allergy research (and being a PhD for a maximum of 10 years). The awarded money is given by the pharmaceutical company ALK-Abelló GmbH.

Source: press release, Helmholtz Zentrum München